top of page
19.png

Beau Rudder Camden County DUI Attorney

Protecting Families, Preserving Futures Against DUI Charges in Georgia

Being arrested for DUI in Georgia has life altering consequences. You will need to pay to post bail to get out of jail. You will be given a court date to face the DUI charge. You have 30 days from arrest to contest administrative license suspension. Contesting this suspension is not automatic. It must be requested by you or your lawyer. This is why hiring an experienced DUI lawyer immediately is important to protecting your rights

Have you been charged with a DUI in Georgia? Call (912) 707-2110 or email Beau Rudder Law to schedule a meeting with Beau Rudder, Kingsland and Camden County, Georgia defense attorney.

17_edited.jpg

Understanding Georgia's DUI Laws

Navigating the legal landscape of DUI laws in Camden County, GA, requires a comprehensive understanding of both state and local law. In Georgia, driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious offense with strict penalties. Camden County follows these statewide laws, and it's crucial to be aware of the key aspects.

Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits:

The legal limit for blood alcohol concentration in Georgia is 0.08%. For drivers under the age of 21, a BAC of 0.02% or higher is considered a DUI.

Implied Consent:

Georgia operates under an implied consent law, meaning that by obtaining a driver's license, individuals implicitly agree to submit to chemical tests, (breathalyzer, urine or blood test) if suspected of DUI. Refusal to take a test may result in a license suspension.

Penalties for DUI Convictions:

Penalties for DUI convictions can include license suspension, clinical evaluations for substance abuse, mandatory DUI school attendance, fines, probation, and even imprisonment. You will need to carry specific insurance if/when your license is reinstated and some jobs also require mandatory self reporting of any DUI. The severity of penalties depends on factors like previous offenses and the level of intoxication.

Administrative License Suspension:

The Georgia Department of Driver Services will automatically suspend your license for 12 months if you are found to have a BAC of .08% or higher at arrest. You have 30 days to request an administrative license suspension hearing, it's not automatic. This is why it's imperative to hire an experienced DUI lawyer immediately after arrest.

Ignition Interlock Devices:

For certain DUI convictions, the court may mandate the installation of an ignition interlock device in your car, requiring a breath test before the engine starts.

Aggravating Factors:

Aggravating factors such as accidents, injuries, or high BAC levels can lead to enhanced penalties. Subsequent DUI offenses within a ten-year period also result in more severe consequences.

Legal Representation:

Given the complexities of DUI laws in Camden County, seeking legal representation is paramount. An experienced DUI attorney, like Beau Rudder, will navigate the legal system and  construct a strong defense to protect you and your future.

16.png
  • What happens when you get arrested for DUI in GA?
    Being arrested for DUI in Georgia has life altering consequences. You will need to pay to post bail to get out of jail. You will be given a court date to face the DUI charge. You have 30 days from arrest to contest an administrative license suspension. Contesting this suspension is not automatic. It must be requested by you or your lawyer. This is why hiring an experienced DUI lawyer immediately is important to protecting your rights.
  • How likely is jail time for a first DUI in Georgia?
    If convicted for a first DUI in Georgia, the maximum jail sentence is 12 months and the minimum is 10 days, and all but 24 hours of the minimum 10 days can be suspended by the judge. That means every first time conviction has a minimum of 24 hours in jail.
  • What percentage of DUI cases are dismissed in Georgia?
    Specific statistics on the percentage of DUI cases dismissed in Georgia are not available. The rate of dismissal is most likely related to the effectiveness of your attorney.
  • How do you get a DUI dismissed in Georgia?
    Hire an experienced and effective criminal defense attorney that specializes in DUI defense. Knowing your rights during a police encounter can greatly reduce the evidence obtained against you and make it harder for you to be prosecuted.
  • What is the 3 hour rule for DUI in Georgia?
    The "3-hour rule" in Georgia law refers to a provision related to the admissibility of blood alcohol concentration (BAC) tests. Under this rule, for a BAC test result to be presumed relevant and admissible in court, the test must be conducted within three hours of driving.
  • Do you lose your license immediately after a DUI in Georgia?
    If you are 21 years or older and if you refuse to take a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) test or if your test results in a (BAC) above .08%, then your license is automatically suspended. That suspension can be contested in an administrative license hearing if your lawyer requests a hearing within 30 days of your arrest. The hearing is not automatically scheduled, it must be requested.
  • What is the most common sentence for a first DUI?
    It depends on the circumstances of the case and your prior driving record. A first DUI conviction results in a mandatory 10 day jail sentence and all but 24 hours can be suspended by the judge, a mandatory 12 month license suspension, and a mandatory fine of no less than $300. Probation, alcohol and drug addiction assessment, driving school, and community service may also be imposed.
  • Is probation mandatory for a DUI in Georgia?
    Not on a first DUI. On a second DUI conviction in 10 years there is a mandatory 12 month probationary sentence that cannot be reduced. With each subsequent conviction the possible punishment becomes more severe.
  • What happens if you plead guilty to a DUI in Georgia?
    If you plead guilty to a DUI in Georgia, then you waive your right to a trial and the court will proceed to sentencing you for the crime. The sentence will depend on a wide range of factors like your driving history and circumstances of the case. You may be sentenced to mandatory jail time, ordered to pay a large fine, mandatory license suspension, and possible probation. The conviction will also make it difficult to obtain car insurance and could impact your employment.
  • What is the 10 day rule for DUI in Georgia?
    The 10 Day Rule originally meant that you only have 10 business days from the date of your arrest to request an administrative hearing contesting your license suspension. That rule was changed in 2017 and now you have 30 days to request a hearing.
bottom of page